What the dog doin?

May 15th

Today felt like my first real day off in a long time. My kid stayed the night at their grandmas which meant that I got to wake up when I wanted to and do a lot of self-care. I cleaned up our apartment with my spouse because we had a service technician come look at our dryer and played a lot of BoTW during my down time. I started a new file last night after seeing my brother play Tear's of the Kingdom on Mother's Day. It's funny how being exposed to the new thing sparks my enthusiasm in the old thing ^w^

I was supposed to teach remotely today but my (one) student didn't show up, so I closed up the class after waiting for 30 minutes while playing on my phone. Normally I'd be a little annoyed but I really needed the time to myself today.

Anyway, that's it for today. I'm grateful to be able to take a little time to update my blog. Thanks for stopping by and take care :3

May 12th

Fridays are tough for me. It's so close to my weekend and emotionally/energetically I start to peter out. With summer approaching I'm thinking about how to conserve my energy and use it for things that matter or are fulfilling. Life is gonna get real busy soon, better coast while I can~

Here's a list of things I did today:

That's it for today. I'm gonna spend the rest of my night playing around with CSS and see if I can link my style sheet to all my pages to keep things more consistent.

uwu

May 11th

Today was a pretty good day. I came into work a little later because of how funky my schedule has been. It was a slow start this morning, mostly dealing with some sales calls and answering emails. By the time I was done it was time to get setup for my adult class and eat some lunch.

My adult class today went so much better than last week. We had some major staffing changes last week that threw my mental down the toilet, and it clearly impacted my teaching. However, after some reflection I realized that the challenges my student was having weren't actually all that bad. It's amazing how time can give clarity to problem.

We slowed down this week and approached his painting with patience. My student is trying to paint on a toned ground for the first time and I think this really threw him off since he's used to working on white. Oil paints have a certain translucency that make the colors underneath shimmer through. This week we decided to block in colors with the mentality that we'll be layering on top of them next time. Trusting the process can be difficult but it's so necessary with painting.

That it for today! Thanks for reading and I hope to see you again.